Most of my adult life I’ve experienced that down, mildly depressed feeling after Christmas–and I’ve never really known why.  Actually, I’ve always been a little embarrassed about it, so I’ve never talked about it much.  Was I just hoping for more or better presents?  Am I that selfish?  Was I not recognizing the true meaning of Christmas?  I always THOUGHT I did.  So why was this happening to me?

So a couple of weeks ago I decided to meet the question head on, with the full force of my intellectual powers ( no snickering).  And it hit me in one of those “Duh!” moments.  The reason I feel blue after Christmas is because I like Christmas and now it’s over!  I love almost everything about the season–the decorations, the music, the general mood or spirit, the special church services, the feeling of anticipation.  And once all of that ends, well, of COURSE I feel sad.  I feel sad when a vacation ends, I feel sad when summer is over, I feel sad when I slide the last bite of French silk pie into my mouth.  It’s normal! 

Maybe that sounds pretty obvious to you, but it was a revelation to me.  And once I acknowledged it, it freed me up to really enjoy Christmas this year like I never have before.  2008 will go down in my history as perhaps the best Christmas ever, and I can’t wait for next year to enjoy it all again. 

And a little frosting on the cake…  Acknowledging the normal reality of post-Christmas blues has actually served to lessen them this year.  I didn’t expect that, but I sure do welcome it.

So, for probably the last time in ’08, Merry Christmas!  And as Tiny Tim observed, “God bless us, every one!”

